Moral dilemmas

I’m on the train to London. I’m going to a meeting at the Shell Building. This is not an obvious place to go for someone who is trying to avoid cars. So I ought to explain.

The Church places a very high value on training. It’s six or seven years of training before a priest is let loose. Bishops are given a good programme.

I am in a group of six people from very different working backgrounds which meets every so often to explore common ideas and experiences. Three are from the business sector, two from the statutory realm, plus me. I have learnt a lot. I was particularly surprised to find that all of us gave a very high status to discussion of values.

Hence the Shell Building today. That’s where we are meeting.

But the conflict of morals is a common problem. When I cycled from Lands End to John O’Groats I raised £15k for an HIV/AIDS charity working in South Africa. A self-evidently good cause. But having signed up I found that one of the sponsors was an online gambling firm who, not unreasonably, had put their logo on our team shirts. I cycled.

The problem comes as moral decisions are never clear cut. There may be two or more competing “goods” or a “good” and a “bad” that you have to balance.

There are those who say we should disinvest church funds from big oil companies like Shell. I think there is a case for staying involved in order to have influence. However, I suppose I also feel that unless I give up the car, grow all my own food, and never turn on the heating then I will forever be morally compromised.

The important thing is to decide what is right first and then decide whether it us possible. The important thing is to continually ask questions of all that we do. That, for me, is a religious stance. It’s about being willing to struggle with difficult issues.

2 thoughts on “Moral dilemmas

  1. Sheelagh

    Yes, indeed. You express very well what is an ever present conundrum. It is well nigh impossible to live out our beliefs and convictons in the time and culture in which we live. A constant struggle, as you say.

    Reply
  2. Chris Bainbridge

    For me this post encapsulates Christianity in many ways. If as Christians we are growing into Christlikeness then surely that means in intelligent moral thinking as well as every other way. So many preachers and churches seem to claim to know the answer to every moral question with absolute assurance. They remove from their congregations the necessity to grapple with these questions (for which there may not be a “right” answer) and leave them as moral pygmies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

