Night on a bare mountain

Christian Aid asked me to help them with their campaign on refugees. So I said I would take my tiny one man tent and go up on to the top of Salisbury Plain in order to pray all night.

Seemed like a good idea in Holy Week.

But then Rob said that the farmer had a restored 19th century Shepherd’s hut which he would tow up on to the downs for me.

This afternoon, therefore, I am setting off with my sleeping bag in a rucksack to walk 12 miles or so to the hut. They towed it up there last night and sent me this picture.

Looks like 5 star luxury hermit’s prayer cell.

Then early tomorrow morning walking down into Mere joined by some teenagers who I shall confirm in the parish church.

Leave a Reply

