Arhbishop’s Tutu’s Wisdom

Always nice to know you are in exalted company. Apparently Archbishop Tutu once said, “Give a man a fish and feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and feed him for a lifetime. Teach a man to cycle and he will realise fishing is stupid and boring.”

A Gentle day of pottering around Salisbury and out to Wilton. I took the Brompton in on the train and cycled into the diocesan offices. It was snowing when I left, and I wasn’t at all sure who was stupid: me or all those people flashing by in their cars with their heaters full on, and their in-house sound system.

The problem with the small wheeled Brompton is that it is less stable in slippery conditions. I was also a bit worried that when the chain came off, I discovered that a small cross strut on the rear part of the folding frame has rusted through after years of exposure to wet and salt. Anyone know what to do about this?

I am still as if at the early stage of the person who has given up smoking: I can’t stop thinking about how much easier it would be to just jump in the car, turn on the ignition and go. Cold Turkey was how I felt when I set off in the snow this morning.

But then I meet people who have deliberately and permanently given up their cars. A local bike mechanic told me that one year he cycled 8000 miles, and drove only 500, which makes my efforts look pretty feeble.

Tomorrow I’m off on a another Lenten Pilgrimage walk. Boots, maps and waterproof clothes in a pile by the door.

9 thoughts on “Arhbishop’s Tutu’s Wisdom

  1. John

    “I discovered that a small cross strut on the rear part of the folding frame has rusted through after years of exposure to wet and salt. Anyone know what to do about this?”

    Time to visit your local bike shop I’d have thought (or at any rate one that knows about Bromptons). Quite likely to be a replacement rear triangle.

    Reply
  2. David

    Enjoying reading your posts again. re the Brompton, the consensus among the Brompton riders I’ve consulted is that you need a new rear triangle, it’s a known failure point, and the best replacement is titanium. Probably a job for your local Brompton dealer. Hope this helps, and sorry it’s not better news.

    Reply
    1. Ramsbury Post author

      Have discovered one in Bath 9only 15 miles away) which appears to have no less than three sprockets. I’ve emailed them to ask their advice. Many thanks

      Reply
  3. Jan.brackley@gmail.com

    Well done Ed not Much longer to go now……….you will do it . I’m sure
    Lots of love from jan Brackley Im not sure I’ve left this reply in the right place but having just found your blog again I had to reply to anything really I m really enjoying the blogs by the way.

    Reply
    1. Ramsbury Post author

      Jan, Thanks. How very good to hear from you. It must be 25 years since we last met. I am very stubborn so I haven’t been tempted to give in yet. There’s one Sunday coming up when I would be due to cycle 82 miles and take services. Hmm. I’m planning escape routes.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

