Sleep out

20150313_223017_LLS

A late night cycle ride to Trowbridge to give support to the Alabare sleep out. They are raising funds by sleeping out all night on flattened cardboard boxes.  The temperature tonight is forecast to drop to freezing.

I did it two years ago. I put extra layers of clothing on.  I pulled my fleece hat firmly over my eyes, and the sleeping bag up so that only my nose and mouth had to confront the cold.

Alabare is an excellent Christian  charity which supports people on the margins of society: often multiple problems of homelessness, mental health issues and so on. They have a wide national coverage, with a centre in Trowbridge and in Salisbury.

The cycle ride over was magnificent.  Until I got to Trowbridge I followed mostly single track roads.  In those first 8 miles I saw only one car and had the dark roads to myself. Now on Trowbridge Station waiting for the train home.

Leave a Reply

